

& Parul Institute of Pharmacy Distance of Partners Organization of Pharmaceutical Unity with BioAllied Sciences (OPUBS) Journal of Pharmacy & BioAllied Sciences (JPBS) Gujarat Technological University with support of Baroda College of Pharmacy and Parul Institute of Pharmacy, Limda, Vadodara organized a "National Conference" on March 24th-25th, 2012 at Ahmedabad Management Association, Ahmedabad. The theme of the conference was **"Advances in Drug Delivery Technologies".**

The conference was inaugurated by Hon'ble Shri Jaynarayan Vyas, Cabinet Minister, Health & Family Welfare, Govt. of Gujarat. Dr. Ashok Kumar, President, Center for Research and Development, IPCA Laboratories, Mumbai was the Guest of Honour and Hon'ble Shri Akshai Aggarwal, Vice- chancellor, Gujarat Technological University presided over the function. Dr. G.P. Vadodaria, Registrar I/c, GTU, Dr. Devanshu Patel, Managing Trustee, Parul Trust were also present at the opening ceremony of the conference. Dr. Archana Paranjape, Principal, Baroda College of Pharmacy and Dr. Rajesh K. S., Principal Parul Institute of Pharmacy offered salutation to the dignitaries during the event.

Dr.G.P. Vadodaria, Registrar I/c, GTU, welcomed all the dignitaries, speakers and delegates.

Hon'ble Shri Jaynarayan Vyas in his inaugural speech appreciated the theme of the conference and appealed to all the delegates for rational use of drugs in various drug delivery technologies. He also emphasized on development of new technologies for drug delivery giving the example of thalidomide (banned drug due to adverse effects) which is now again used for treating the skin cancer.

Dr. Akshai Aggarwal, Vice-Chancellor, GTU expressed his happiness over the successful organization of the conference and assured to provide such platforms for pharma professionals in future too. Keynote address was given by Dr. Ashok Kumar, President IPCA, Laboratories, Mumbai.

The conference was attended by more than 350 academicians, industry persons and research scholars/students across India from states covering from Maharashtra to Uttarakhand and all over Gujarat.

More than 100 research papers were received from all over India by the host. After vigorous review process, 50 research papers were selected and published in "Journal of Pharmacy and Bioallied Sciences". During the conference, these 50 research papers were presented by their concerned authors and out of them, best three papers were awarded as 'Best Paper Award' with a trophy and a certificate.

Hon'ble Shri Jaynarayan Vyas, Chief Guest of the conference released the special issue of the journal "Journal of Pharmacy and Bioallied Sciences" in which 50 research publications of participants were incorporated. The Journal is indexed in PubMed, PubMed Central, Google

Scholar, Caspur, DOAJ, EBESCO Publishing's Electronic Databases, Genomics, Journal seek, Hinari, Index Copernicus, SCOPUS etc.

In this conference, Plenary Lectures were delivered by researchers, academicians of repute and experts from Pharmaceutical industries. On first day, the plenary lectures were delivered by Prof. A. N. Misra, Dean, Faculty of Technology and Engineering, The M. S. University of Baroda, Vadodara, Prof. P. Pramanik, Dept. of Chemistry, IIT, Kharagpur, Dr. B. S. Dwarkanath, Scientist, INMAS, New Delhi and Dr. Jitendra Baweja, Vice President, Formulation Development, Emcure Pharmaceuticals Ltd. Pune. They discussed the frontier technologies, developed and used for efficient and targeted delivery of drugs. The topics of the plenary lectures were "Delivery of siRNA for effective treatment of Lung Cancer" by Prof.A. N. Misra, "Application of functionalized magnetic and optical nanoparticles for diagnostics and separation methodologies" by Prof. P. Pramanik, "Calreticulin mediated protein acetylation:A potential target for developing anticancer therapies" by Dr. B. S. Dwarkanath and "Opportunities for nanotechnology in Drug Development" by Dr. Jitendra Baweja.

On the second day of the conference, the Plenary Lectures were delivered by Prof. N. K. Jain, Professor, Dr. H. S. Gour University, Sagar, Dr. Ajay Khopade, General Manager, R& D, Sun Pharma Advanced Research Centre, Baroda, Dr. Sanjay Boldhane, Associate Director, IDDR, Abbott Healthcare Pvt. Ltd., Mumbai and Dr. Manikandan, Associate Director, Formulation Development, Dr. Reddy's Laboratories Limited, Hyderabad. The topics of Plenary Lectures were "Carbon Nanotubes: Yet Another Arsenal in Pharmaceutical Armory" by Prof. N. K. Jain, "Nanotectons (TM)-A Novel self-assembling nanoparticle delivery system for anticancer drugs" by Dr. Ajay Khopade, "Platform Drug Delivery Systems" by Dr. Sanjay Boldhane and "Drug Nanocrystals-A Potential drug delivery system for poorly soluble compounds" by Dr. Manikandan.

The valedictory function was held on second day after plenary lecture session. Dr. Suresh Venkatram, Chief Scientific Officer, Semler Research Centre, Bengaluru was the Chief Guest of the function. The function was presided over by Dr. Devanshu Patel, Managing Trustee, Parul Trust, Dr.Archana Paranjape, Principal, Baroda College of Pharmacy and Dr. Rajesh K. S., Principal Parul Institute of Pharmacy.

Valedictory speech was given by the chief guest Dr. Suresh Venkatram, Chief Scientific Officer, Semler Research Centre, Bengaluru.

The function was concluded with vote of thanks and national anthem.

Inaugural function



Dignitaries on the Dias



Luminaries Lighting the lamp during inauguration

th.

Welcome of guests during Inaugural function



Welcome of guests by Dr.Archana Paranjape

Welcome of guests by Dr. Devanshu Patel





Welcome of guests by Dr. Naazneen Surti

Welcome of guests by Dr. Rajesh K.S.







Hon'ble Shri Jaynarayan Vyas delivering speech

Dr.Ashok Kumar delivering Keynote address





Speech by Dr. Archana Paranjape

Speech by Honorable Dr. Akshai Aggarwal





Dr. Devanshu Patel delivering Presidential Address







th.

Dr. Naazneen Surti delivering Vote of Thanks

Audience during Inaugural function



Speakers for plenary lectures



Dr. Ajay Khopade General Manager, R & D (FDD) Sun Pharma Advanced Research Centre, Baroda

Dr. B. S. Dwarkanath Scientist, Institute of Nuclear Medicine and Allied Sciences, New Delhi





Dr. Jitendra Baweja Vice President, Formulation Development, Emcure Pharmaceuticals Ltd., Pune



Dr. R. Manikandan Associate Director, Formulation Development, Dr. Reddy's Laboratories Ltd., Hyderabad

Dr. Sanjay Boldhanae Associate Director, IDDR, Abbott Healthcare Pvt. Ltd., Mumbai





Prof.A. N. Misra, Speaker Dean, Faculty of Technology and Engineering, The Maharaja Sayajirao University of Baroda, Vadodara

Prof. N. K Jain Dr. H. S. Gour University, Sagar





Prof. P. Pramanik Professor, Department of Chemistry, IIT, Kharagpur

Poster presentation



Poster Presentation by participants

Judges evaluating the posters



AWARDS



Ist Prize Ami Lodha GLPL,Waghodia

2nd Prize Nirav Khatri The M.S. University of Baroda Vadodara





3rd Prize Mansi Dholakia Anand Pharmacy College, Anand



VALEDICTORY FUNCTION



Dignitaries at Valedictory function



Welcome of chief guest by Dr. Archana Paranjape

Valedictory address by Dr. Suresh Venkatram (Chief Scientific Officer, Semler Research Centre, Bangaluru)



Audience during valedictory function

